The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones)

Matt .
Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones) by Mind Map: The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones)

1. supramundane right liberation

1.1. supramundane right knowledge/understanding

2. Sabbapāpassa akaraṇaṃ, kusalassa upasampadā; Sacitta­pari­yo­dapa­naṃ, etaṃ buddhāna sāsanaṃ (DHP#183) Refraining from all evil actions Committing to wholesome intentions Purifying the mind ...This is the message of the Buddha(s)

3. The Central Goal: Liberation from Dukkha (the ultimate/supreme freedom/peace/happiness/bliss to be had in this very life). One Taste - Freedom.

4. 8-Fold Noble Path

4.1. Right/Skillful/Wise/Wholesome/Attuned/Complete/Perfect = leading to liberation (freedom from dukkha) Wrong/Unskillful/Foolish/Unwholesome/Disruptive/Disturbing/Flawed = leading to more dukkha "Thus, bhikkhus, the path of the disciple in higher training possesses eight factors, the arahant possesses ten factors."

4.1.1. Pannya (Wisdom) Right View yoniso manisikara to: the voice of another: 1. a wise&good teacher 2. admirable friendship - how do you feel after hanging out with this friend? joyous or uneasy/confused? Right Intention/Resolve/Dedication/Wish/Desire Aim/Purpose? proper renunciation (nekhamma) [against craving (or sensuality?)] proper good-will [against ill-will] proper harmlessness [against harmfulness]

4.1.2. Siila (Morality/Discipline) Right Action Right Speech Right Livelihood

4.1.3. Samaadhi (Unification, Summation) Right Effort the work done (energy/effort towards view, intention, mindfulness, etc.) 4 Right Efforts Right Mindfulness SatiPatthana Right Concentration

5. 1. Truth of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be known/understood completely) dukkha sacca

5.1. all *conditioned/conditional* phenomena are dukkha

5.1.1. 3 Kinds of Dukkha 1. Pain (dukkha-dukkhataa) - dukkha. level of feeling and sensation, pain, birth, old age, sickness, death 2. Change (viparinaama-dukkhataa) - anicca. includes pleasures, if indulged in for too long, they have a tendency to lead to dissatisfaction, hedonic treadmill, pleasant in remaining dissatisfying in changing anicca - impermanence of conditioned phenomena 3. Conditionality (samkhaara-dukkhataa) - anatta. (insubstantiality, no conditioned phenomena has an independent existence), the most fundamental suffering, subtle discontentment, unsatisfactoriness, ennui, ego-clinging, meaninglessness, pervasive conditioning, existing in a conditioned way, 3 marks of existence applied to the conditional, dependent origination? (at root of other 2 levels of suffering) 5 Khandaas (conditioned aggregates/functions/aspects) what a human being identifies as self, clings to, and that clinging results in dukkha 1 vs 2-5: one division is between rūpa and nāma, form vs name, materiality vs mentality, appearances and concepts 1-4 vs 5: Another is between viññana and everything else, that consciousness takes a distinct position in experience (this is probably the earliest division, Sujato) all Khandas are internal and external?

6. 2. Truth of the Origin of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be abandoned) samudaya sacca

6.1. desiring/craving/thirsting for and clinging/grasping/attachment to what is pleasurable (desires, thirsting and feeding), and aversion to what is not, , results in dukkha an even deeper level identifying with and clinging to the 5 khandas (ignorance) ...self-grasping mind

6.1.1. 3 kinds of craving kāma-taṇhā: craving for sensuality conditioned by pleasant feeling? greed poison bhāva-taṇhā: craving for identity/becoming/existence conditioned by neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling? ignorance poison vibhāva-taṇhā: craving for dis-identity/non-becoming/non-existence/formless-existence conditioned by painful feeling? aversion poison

6.1.2. paticca samuppada - dependent origination / inter-relatedness of phenomena, cause and effect Ignorance/delusion (ignorance of the 4 Truths/Realities, deludedly clinging to 5 Khandas) craving & clinging many angles of attack - all links in mundane dependent origination are valid, it's a matter of personal disposition? or is there only a weakening of dukkha by the others? is it only craving (taṇhā, that is the ultimate origin) that is valid? *to fill in: the ways to attack at different angles on 12 nidānas

6.1.3. Āsavas (influxes/defliements/taints) most often referred to in suttas

6.1.4. Akusala-mūla (unwholesome roots) sometimes instead of āsavas, the akusala mūla are referred to, and ?even less? of the time they are referred to as passion/greed/desire cause - theme of the attractive antidote - attend appropriately to the theme of the unattractive aversion/ill-will/hatred cause - theme of irritation antidote - attend appropriately to good-will as an awareness-release delusion/ignorance cause - inappropriate attention antidote - attend appropriately / appropriate attention sometimes wrong view (maccha? diṭṭhi)  is included as a taint

7. 3. Truth of the Cessation of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be witnessed/realized/attained) nirodha sacca

7.1. that putting an end to this craving/thirsting, also means the cessation of dukkha (dependent arising - when this is not, that is not)

7.1.1. Vimutti (freedom, liberation) & Nibbāna (cooling, quenching, extinguishing)

7.2. transcendent dependent origination? (12 links of liberation)

7.3. etymology: nir = without/non udaya = arising non-arising (opposite of samudaya = simulataneous arising, co-arising)

8. 4. Truth of the Path to Liberation/Freedom (As A Task: to cultivate/train/develop) magga sacca

8.1. The Path

8.1.1. The Middle Way (non-extremism) in path terms: between (AKA not-concerned-with) asceticism (body-torture etc.) low hedonism (sensual indulgence) Appamada - careful/caring diligence Yoniso Manasikāra - Wise Work of the Mind, Wise Mind-Action, Appropriate/Wise Attention/Engagement/Ideation/Consideration (to the central problem/question: Dukkha, 4 Truths, 5 clinging-aggregates of dukkha) (manasi+karoti) Bhāvanā - cultivation/development   Nekkhamma - renunciation/simplicity/letting-go (needs vs wants) renunciation of sensuality (kaama-loka world of sensuality/sensual-experience) (anti-dote to sensuality) these three following sections dāna, sīla, bhāvana are the "three bases for meritorious action" the "three bases of higher training" are pañña, sīla, samādhi (and are for monastics only?) in ultimate philosophical terms: between (AKA not-concerned-with) nihilism/annihilationism essentialism/eternalism/atman-soul theory

9. The Central Question/Problem: Dukkha (subtle underlying discontentment, difficulty, stress, unsatisfactoriness, flawedness, suffering, uneasiness, ennui, anguish, dissatisfaction, birth-disease-oldage-death, 5-grasping-aggregates, a burden, that which is difficult to bear)

10. Daana

10.1. Siila

10.1.1. Bhaavanaa

11. wisdom

11.1. virtue

11.1.1. mind

12. pannya

12.1. siila

12.1.1. samaadhi

13. The Gradual Training (anupubbi-katha)

13.1. Dāna (generosity)

13.2. Sīla (virtue)

13.3. Sagga (benefits (heavens))

13.4. Adinava (drawbacks)

13.5. Nekhamma (renunciation)

13.6. ONLY when the mind is made pure/bright by these practices THEN one should take up the Four Ennobling Tasks

14. compare gradual training to 10-fold path, 3-fold training, and 4 noble truths

14.1. hearing the teaching

14.2. gaining faith

14.3. going forth

14.4. rules of discipline

14.5. purifying livelihood

14.6. contentment

14.7. sense restraint

14.8. moderate eating

14.9. wakefulness

14.10. clear comprehension

14.11. seclusion

14.12. establishing mindfulness

14.13. abandoning hindrances

14.14. four jhānas

14.15. knowledge & vision

14.16. mind-made body

14.17. psychic powers

14.18. divine ear

14.19. reading minds

14.20. past lives

14.21. divine eye

14.22. noble truths

14.23. liberation