The Constitution

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
The Constitution by Mind Map: The Constitution

1. Article I

1.1. Legislature

1.2. The first article was about giving Congress its powers and limits. Section one explains that all legislative powers granted shall be given to a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives. Section 2 is about the House of Representatives shall be composed of Members chosen every second Year by the People of the several States, and the Electors in each State shall have the Qualifications requisite for Electors of the most numerous Branch of the State Legislature. Section 3 states the Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each State, chosen by the Legislature thereof, for six Years; and each Senator shall have one Vote. Section 4 is about the Times, Places and Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Representatives, shall be prescribed in each State by the Legislature thereof; but the Congress may at any time by Law make or alter such Regulations, except as to the Places of choosing Senators. Section 5 states “Each House may determine the Rules of its Proceedings, punish its Members for disorderly behavior, and, with the Concurrence of two thirds, expel a Member.” Section 6 states The Senators and Representatives shall receive a Compensation for their Services, to be ascertained by Law, and paid out of the Treasury of the United States. Section 7 is about Revenue Bills, Legislative Process, Presidential Veto. All bills for raising Revenue shall originate in the House of Representatives; but the Senate may propose or concur with Amendments as on other Bills. Section 8 states To make all Laws which shall be necessary and proper for carrying into Execution the foregoing Powers, and all other Powers vested by this Constitution in the Government of the United States, or in any Department or Officer thereof. Section 9 states The Migration or Importation of such Persons as any of the States now existing shall think proper to admit, shall not be prohibited by the Congress prior to the Year one thousand eight hundred and eight, but a Tax or duty may be imposed on such Importation, not exceeding ten dollars for each Person. Section 10 states No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal; coin Money; emit Bills of Credit; make any Thing but gold and silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; pass any Bill of Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law impairing the Obligation of Contracts, or grant any Title of nobility.

2. Article II

2.1. Executive

2.2. Article 2 of the United States Constitution is the section that makes the executive branch of the government. Section 1 states The executive Power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America. Section 2 states “the President shall have Power, by and with the Advice and Consent of the Senate to make Treaties, provided two thirds of the Senators present concur.” Thus, treaty making is a power shared between the President and the Senate. Section 3 states The president is required to report to Congress on "the State of the Union"; over time, this requirement has taken the shape of a formal "State of the Union Address" delivered every January to a joint meeting of both houses of Congress. The president can call Congress into special session when it's out on recess if he thinks there is urgent business the Congress needs to deal with. The president has to "faithfully execute" the laws of the United States; this is probably the most important part of the presidential job description, so it's a bit odd that it's just tucked into the latter half of this clause. Finally, the president has to grant commissions to all military officers of the United States. Finally section 4 saysThe President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.

3. Article III

3.1. Judicial

3.2. Article Three of the United States Constitution establishes the judicial branch of the federal government. Section 1 states Here the Constitution creates only the Supreme Court, granting it all "the judicial power of the United States." Thus the Supreme Court is the head of the judicial branch, just as the president is the head of the executive branch. This clause also gives Congress the power to create "inferior courts"—that is, lower-level federal courts that can serve under the Supreme Court to help the Supremes work though the federal caseload. Section 2 is about "Original jurisdiction" means the court hears a case in the first instance. "Appellate jurisdiction" means that the court hears a case only upon appeal of a previous decision from a lower court. The US Supreme Court has original jurisdiction in a few select kinds of cases—those involving ambassadors, for example. Section 3 The requirement for two eyewitnesses to an overt act of treason to convict someone for the crime remains an odd wrinkle in the law today.

4. Article IV

4.1. Article IV explains the relationship between the states and the national government Section 1 of article IV states each state has to recognize the laws, records, and court rulings of the other states. Section 2 requires states that capture fugitives from justice in other states to send them back to face trial. Section 3 says any western territories that haven't yet become states fall under the direct control of the Congress. Section 4 states that the federal government ensures that each state must maintain a representative form of government; no state is allowed to become a dictatorship. The federal government also promises to protect all the states from foreign military attack, and to come to the aid of the states if they are threatened by uprisings or insurrections.

5. Article V

5.1. Article V describes when and how the Constitution can be changed.

6. Article VI

6.1. Article VI declares the Constitution the “supreme Law of the Land

7. Article VII

7.1. Article VII describes how the Constitution was to be ratified